Massachusetts Marriage Laws
Massachusetts Marriage Laws are important when you plan your wedding on Cape Cod.
A marriage license issued in the state of Massachusetts is mandatory. An out-of-state license can not be used.
State law requires that both spouses apply in person and jointly file marriage intentions with any city or town clerk in the commonwealth which includes Cape Cod. Both applicants must be 18 years or older to file marriage intentions, otherwise a court order must be obtained. A marriage license is valid for 60 days from the date intentions are filed and may be used in any Massachusetts city or town. There is a mandatory three day waiting period from the date of application to the date the license is issued. This can be waived following a hearing before a probate or district court judge when a couple can show "good reason".
Massachusetts statute does not require that any witnesses be present at your ceremony.
It is the responsibility of the officiating clergy or justice of the peace to complete and sign the original license as well as return it to the clerk of the city and town where the license was issued.
For additional information:
Registry of Vital Records & Statistics Department of Public Health 470 Atlantic Ave. 2nd floor Boston, MA 02210-2224 (617) 753-8600
Town of Barnstable Town Clerk's Office 367 Main Street Hyannis, Cape Cod, MA 02601 (508) 862-4044 (508) 775-3344 Fax